The contestants running in the 2nd Go Round—which is taking place in Barn 6 at the Oklahoma State Fairgrounds—were treated to an arena-record performance for the second consecutive day. Kelsey Deal and Dialaroosterforcash set the new mark with a run of 15.056 seconds, breaking the one-day old record of Ashley Nelson and JL Dash Ta Heaven, who posted a 15.148 on Thursday.

Cheryl Magoteaux and Bet This Is A Shiner set the mark to beat in the 1st Go Round—which is being run in the Fairgrounds Coliseum—with a run of 15.355, crushing the day one mark of 15.505 scored by Denise Hrdlicka and Catman Goldseeker.

The first annual Formula 707 Slot Race boasted 20 entries racing for a $40,000 purse, with $20,000 guaranteed to go to the winner. Cindy Smith, of Hobbs, N.M., running in a slot owned by Kelly Conrado, won the inaugural event aboard Wood B Smokinfame with a time of 15.356 seconds, topping reserve champions Cody Bauserman and Niki Black by .129 seconds.

Smith and Wood B Smokinfame’s time also held on to win the Formula 707 Futurity Qualifaction Race. The 161-entry field will be split in half for Saturday, with the fastest 50 percent running in the Futurity Championship round, while the bottom 50 percent run in the Futurity Consolation Race.

Marshall, Texas, cowgirl Jody Dorman rode Pass Em Up Firewater to the 1st Annual Diamond W Arena Derby championship on Thursday evening with a run of 15.652, edging reserve champions Randa Kellogg and Zaks Okie Reesix hundredths of a second.

Be sure to check back Saturday evening, as BHN brings you a wrap-up of the final day of Open Race qualifications and the results of the 2011 Futurity races.


Email comments or questions to [email protected]

Write A Comment