After 11 years since his last world title, Troy Crumrine, rose above the pack during the BFA World Championship futurity to claim his fourth BFA world title. The world title wasn’t the only award Crumrine took home. He added the reserve world title and the BFA year-end award to his list of accomplishments for the 2014 BFA World. Coming into the short round with a smoking 15.239 aboard WB Toole Ta Fame, owned by Nick Wylie, the duo drew the second position to run in the short round. The 50 fastest times of the futurity progressed to the short round and Crumrine held two of those positions. Making his first run aboard the sorrel gelding (WB Toole Ta Fame) Crumrine flew through the Jim Norick arena stopping the clock in 15.345, making their aggregate time a 30.585, which wasn’t touch by the remaining 48 contenders. From their efforts the duo collected a little over $40,000 from their average win alone. Taking ahold of the lead Crumrine admits the second position draw combined with his impressive short round run added some anxiety.

“It was nerve-wracking,” Crumrine laughed. “To be the second horse out and happen to make a nice run and sit there and wait for everybody, it was pretty nerve-wracking.”

Clenching the reserve title in the BFA World Championship futurity Crumrine rode Famous Kickin Jo, owned by Trentman Vanvolkenburgh. Entering the finals round with a time of 15.470 the team posted the fastest time of the finals, a 15.332, earning them an aggregate time of 30.802 and almost $30,000. Famous Kickin Jo also took top honors as the Future Fortunes futurity champion.

“I knew I had plenty of horse power,” Cummins said. I knew it coming in, and you just have to have a little luck. Your biggest thing when you have horses of this caliber is your timing. Your timing is so crucial to everything.”

Crumrine’s timing was top-notch this year as left the arena with his fourth world title, a reserve world title and the year-end award which earned him year-end cash and prizes which included two Shiloh Trophy Saddles, one awarded for the futurity championship, the other for the BFA year-end title.

“Everything just happened to work out tonight,” Crumrine said. “It was a long time coming.”

The Sangreal Derby Amateur title went to Cindy Mainus riding BB Runnin On Time. Taking home the 4 Star sponsored derby finals was Emilie Veillette riding SV Pass Em Fire, who earned the top spot above 19 other short round qualifiers. Reserved derby champion was Lisa Nicholas riding Soli My Guy. The Gold Rush Syndicate Youth Futurity, reserved for the top 5 competitors 18 years old and younger, went to Tristan Mounts riding Bachelor. The Jud Little sponsored futurity amateur title went to Jason Moore riding Carlene Shae Runaway.


Email comments or questions to [email protected]

Write A Comment