This article brought to you by Adequan.

The National Barrel Horse Association hosted the Dixie National, its fourth Super Show of 2011, April 29-May 1 at the Hippodrome in North Augusta, S.C., and many of the best barrel racers in the South and East turned out to run for a share of the nearly $52,000 purse.

Erika Hodges and Flying Finances earned the 1D Open championship with a run of 13.891 seconds, three hundredths of a second faster than 1st go round winners Chloe Gray and Sir Nonstopable.

Tiffanie Clark and LM Sam I Am posted the fastest time of the weekend in with a run of 13.849 seconds in the second go round. Sarah McDonald and Fame Fling N Bling won the Youth 1D championship with a time of 13.954 seconds. Gene Sartain and Crazy Magic Man earned the Senior 1D title with a run of 14.354 seconds.

Check out the winning runs from the 2011 NBHA Dixie National at

NBHA Dixie National

When: April 29-May 1
Where: The Hippodrome in North Augusta, S.C.
Total Payout: $51,758
Winners: Open Final: 1D) Erika Hodges/ Flying Finances/ 13.891/ $1,230; 2D) Kim Manley/ Panama Money/ 14.413/ $1,176; 3D) Devin Kimmey/ Rio/ 14.891/ $806; 4D) Amanda Dickens/ Sugar/ 15.897/ $675.
Open 1st Go: 1D) Chloe Gray/ Sir Nonstopable/ 13.959/ $925; 2D) Kim Manley/ Panama Money/ 14.460; $816; 3D) Amanda Aaron/ Baron Red Buck/ 14.959/ $604; 4D) Ruth Mobley/ Shor T Fountain/ 15.972/ $498.
Open 2nd Go: 1D) Tiffanie Clark/ LM Sam I Am/ 13.849/ $922; 2D) Raynell Aaron/ Flits Runnin Hots/ 14.361/ $816; 3D) Tora Beck/ Time To Dash First/ 14.863/ $604; 4D) David Wiles/ Dolly Doc Drift/ 15.882/ $498.
Senior: 1D) Gene Sartain/ Crazy Magic Man/ 14.354/ $193; 2D) Jeff Keeney/ Streakin USA/ 14.874/ $169; 3D) Patricia Connell/ Rascal/ 124; 4D) Bubba Crosby/ Legend/ 16.405/ $102.
Youth: 1D) Sarah McDonald/ Fame Fling N Bling/ 13.954/ $212; 2D) Katelyn Manley/ Red Oak Money/ 14.508/ $187; 3D) Ashlyn Salvo/ Blue Dun Jackie/ 136; 4D) Briar Gates/ Mark Frosty/ 16.023/ $111.

Michael Mahaffey is associate editor of Barrel Horse News. E-mail comments on this article to [email protected].


Email comments or questions to [email protected]

Write A Comment