By Kailey Sullins 

Kissimmee, Florida — The first performance of round No. 2 kicked off April 8, 2017, at 1:30 p.m. The same 13 ladies who made their bids for the semifinals in Friday’s evening performance received a second chance at collecting an average paycheck and one of eight qualifications to the semifinals. The next section of the barrel racing will be run in tonight’s evening performance. 

The cowgirls did not play it safe in Kissimmee and laid it all on the line. Greimsman took the lead in round No. 2 with a time of 15.09—the fastest time of the event so far. 

Greimsman rode Chase It With Brandy and is also currently sitting first in the average race.  

“I had a feeling being on top of the ground. I was thankful for that; I think that does have a benefit here,” Griemsman said. “All of her barrels felt nice and smooth and tight, and it felt good. I was very excited [with my time].”

Griemsman has a special connection with her 9-year-old mare “Brandy.” They have been partners since Brandy was a foal. Brandy is by TM Sakem Drift and out of the Special Effort granddaughter Corona Special. The duo plans to stay focused on their game plan in the semifinals and try their hand at earning a spot in the finals.

Of the 26 barrel racers are competing at the RNCFR, the eight with the fastest total times on two rounds will advance to the semifinals. A tournament-style rodeo, the RNCFR format determines the national circuit champions in each event. Typically, 24 qualifiers from the 12 circuits compete in the two preliminary rounds of the rodeo, however this year the new addition of the Mexico Federation rodeo partnership with the Professional Rodeo Cowboy’s Association and Women’s Professional Rodeo Association has included two Mexican qualifiers in each event.  The top eight contestants from each event advance to the clean-slate finals round. 

JanaGriemsman r2 webJana Griemsman and Chase It With Brandy. Photo by Kailey Sullins

Round 2 Leaders – after third performance

1.Jana Griemsman, Piedmont, S.D., 15.09 seconds

2.Carmel Wright, Roy, Mont., 15.28

3.Tiany Schuster, Krum, Texas, 15.53

4.Calli Van Tassell, Draper, Utah, 15.57

5.Kathy Korell-Rach, Loveland, Colo., 15.69

6.Lori Todd, Willcox, Ariz., 15.77

7.Trula Churchill, Valentine, Neb., 15.96

8.Nas Yeverino, Coahuila, MX, 16.01

9.Lindsey Hayes-banks, Opelika, Ala., 16.16

10.Karly Stoltzfus, Mcclure, Pa., 16.75

11.Tracy Nowlin, Nowata, Okla., 20.54*

12.Amberleigh Moore, Keizer, Ore., 20.83*

13.Jordan Moore, Mauston, Wis., 22.03*

Average Leaders – on two runs

1.Jana Griemsman, Piedmont, S.D., 30.64 seconds on two runs

2.Carmel Wright, Roy, Mont., 30.82

3.Tiany Schuster, Krum, Texas, 30.96

4.Lori Todd, Willcox, Ariz., 31.15

5.Calli Van Tassell, Draper, Utah, 31.66

6.Nas Yeverino, Coahuila, MX, 33.09

7.Karly Stoltzfus, Mcclure, Pa., 33.83

8.Tracy Nowlin, Nowata, Okla., 35.82

9.Kathy Korell-Rach, Loveland, Colo., 36.07

10.Amberleigh Moore, Keizer, Ore., 36.34

11.Trula Churchill, Valentine, Neb., 36.75

12.Lindsey Hayes-banks, Opelika, Ala., 36.97

13.Jordan Moore, Mauston, Wis., 37.72

*The following times are on one run

14.Emily Miller, Weatherford, Okla., 15.46 on one

15.Lisa Lockhart, Oelrichs, S.D., 15.48

16.Nellie Miller, Cottonwood, Calif., 15.52

17.Ari-anna Flynn, Charleston, Ark., 15.53

18.Ashley Baur, Virnamwood, Wis., 15.67

19.Sabra O’Quinn, Ocala, Fla., 15.71

20.Sherry Cervi, Marana, Ariz., 15.75

21.Brittany Pozzi Tonozzi, Victoria, Texas, 15.81

22.Kathy Grimes, Medical Lake, Wash., 15.90

23.Nikki Hansen, Dickinson, N.D., 15.92

24.Luisa Herrera, Chihuahua, MX, 16.27

25.Wendy Chesnut, Poultney, Vt., 21.02

26.Jessie Telford, Caldwell, Idaho, 21.60

Kailey Sullins is managing editor of Barrel Horse News. Email comments on this article to [email protected].  


Email comments or questions to [email protected]

Write A Comment