By Kailey Sullins 

Kissimmee, Florida — It was a horse race inside the Silver Spurs Arena for the final performance of the second round at the Ram National Circuit Finals Rodeo. Two of the newly added Mexico Rodeo Federation cowgirls and 24 of the toughest cowgirls in the Women’s Professional Rodeo Association’s Circuit Tour made the trek to Kissimmee, Florida, to make their bids for championship honors. 

Jana Griemsman topped not only Saturday afternoon’s field of 13, but her time of 15.09 also held out to beat the other 13 ladies who made their second runs during Saturday night’s performance. Griemsman rode Chase It With Brandy, who’s by TM Sakem Drift and out of the Special Effort granddaughter Corona Special. “Brandy” hs been with Griemsman since the now-9-year-old mare was a foal when Griemsman’s sister, Jill Moody, gifted the mare to Griemsman. The home trained mare has led Griemsman to futurity wins and pro rodeo money including the 2016 Badlands Circuit aggregate and year-end championship. 

Leading the aggregate is Griemsman followed by Carmel Wright in second place, Tiany Schuster in third, Ari-Anna Flynn in fourth, Lori Todd in fifth, Nellie Miller in sixth, Emily Miller in seventh and Brittany Pozzi Tonozzi in eighth. 

Brittany Pozzi Tonozzi led Saturday night’s performance with a 15.44, which put her third in round No. 2. Ari-Anna Flynn was the next fastest in Saturday night’s performance with a 15.45, placing her fourth overall in the round. Carmel Wright held onto her second-place position in the round from Saturday afternoon’s performance with a 15.28. 

The top eight contestants will meet back inside the Silver Spurs Arena April 9, 2017, at 1:20 p.m., for the clean-slate finals round, where championship honors will be decided. Those eight contestants are Griemsman, Wright, Schuster, Flynn, Todd, Nellie Miller, Emily Miller and Pozzi-Tonozzi.

Of the 26 barrel racers competing at the RNCFR, the eight with the fastest total times on two rounds will advance to the semifinals. A tournament-style rodeo, the RNCFR format determines the national circuit champions in each event. Typically, 24 qualifiers from the 12 circuits compete in the two preliminary rounds of the rodeo, however this year the addition of the Mexico Federation rodeo partnership with the Professional Rodeo Cowboy’s Association and Women’s Professional Rodeo Association has included two Mexican qualifiers in each event.  The top eight contestants from each event advance to the clean-slate finals round.

JanaGriemsman DSC 0865 webJana Griemsman and Chase It With Brandy. Photo by Kailey Sullins

BrittanyPozziTonozzi DSC 1272Brittany Pozzi Tonozzi. Photo by Kailey Sullins


Barrel Racing Round Two Results:

1.            Jana Griemsman, Piedmont, S.D., 15.09 seconds, $6,254

2.            Carmel Wright, Roy, Mont., 15.28, $4,738

3.            Brittany Pozzi Tonozzi, Victoria, Texas, 15.44, $3,412

4.            Ari-anna Flynn, Charleston, Ark., 15.45, $2,274

5.            Tiany Schuster, Krum, Texas, 15.53, $1,327

6.            Calli Van Tassell, Draper, Utah, 15.57, $948

7.            Jessie Telford, Caldwell, Idaho, 15.64

8.            Nikki Hansen, Dickinson, N.D., 15.66

9.            Kathy Korell-Rach, Loveland, Colo., 15.69

10.          Nellie Miller, Cottonwood, Calif., 15.71

11.          Lori Todd, Willcox, Ariz., 15.77

12.          Emily Miller, Weatherford, Okla., 15.78

13.          Wendy Chesnut, Poultney, Vt., 15.83

14.          Sherry Cervi, Marana, Ariz., 15.89

15.          (tie) Ashley Baur, Virnamwood, Wis., 15.96

                Trula Churchill, Valentine, Neb., 15.96

17.          Kathy Grimes, Medical Lake, Wash., 15.97

18.          Nas Yeverino, Coahuila, MX, 16.01

19.          Lindsey Hayes-banks, Opelika, Ala., 16.16

20.          Luisa Herrera, Chihuahua, MX, 16.45

21.          Karly Stoltzfus, Mcclure, Pa., 16.75

22.          Tracy Nowlin, Nowata, Okla., 20.54

23.          Lisa Lockhart, Oelrichs, S.D., 20.79

24.          Amberleigh Moore, Keizer, Ore., 20.83

25.          Jordan Moore, Mauston, Wis., 22.03

26.          Sabra O’Quinn, Ocala, Fla., NT

Aggregate Results:

1.            Jana Griemsman, Piedmont, S.D., 30.64 seconds on two runs, $6,254

2.            Carmel Wright, Roy, Mont., 30.82, $4,738

3.            Tiany Schuster, Krum, Texas, 30.96, $3,412

4.            Ari-anna Flynn, Charleston, Ark., 30.98, $2,274

5.            Lori Todd, Willcox, Ariz., 31.15, $1,327

6.            Nellie Miller, Cottonwood, Calif., 31.23, $948

7.            Emily Miller, Weatherford, Okla., 31.24

8.            Brittany Pozzi Tonozzi, Victoria, Texas, 31.25


Kailey Sullins is managing editor of Barrel Horse News. Email comments on this article to [email protected]


Email comments or questions to [email protected]

Write A Comment