Average winners at the 2012 Triple Turn Classic.

The Triple Turn Classic is North Dakota’s largest barrel race and entries this year were over 320.


TTC Founder, Ali Miller explains what gave her the inspiration and motivation to put on North Dakota’s largest barrel race.

“The idea for the Triple Turn Classic came to me when I was rodeoing hard and was always looking for jackpots to haul to during the winter and spring months, in order to leg my horses up for the upcoming rodeo season,” says Miller. “Believe it or not, it is hard to find barrel races to haul to at really any other time than the summer months. I wanted to give us Northern barrel racers the opportunity to run at a barrel race that had good ground, a good facility and good prizes.”

Melissa Harding made the long trek from the province of Saskatchewan in Canada with her family and horses in tote all worth it when she claimed the 2012 Open 1D average title. Harding and her 9-year-old sorrel gelding Im No Dainty Chic, (“Digby”) made two solid and consistent runs dominating the competition.

“I came into this jackpot with a goal to make two solid, clean runs. Our first run was a little messy but Digby is so fast, that it doesn’t matter if it’s not the prettiest run, he always clocks,” Harding said.

Harding posted a 15.135 and a 15.335 over the two day barrel race, making her average winning time a 15.235.

Harding bought Digby as a 5-year-old and started him on the barrels herself.

“He used to be, and is still at times, scared of his own shadow and he can be one mean dude,” explained Harding, whose goal is to fill her WPRA Permit this year in hopes of qualifying for her first circuit finals in the future.

Average Hot Shot Winners from 2012 Triple Turn Classic:

1D: Melissa Harding on Im No Dainty Chic

2D: Amy Holmes on Chocolate

3D: Kendal Hofer on Zips Gold Rocket

4D: Linda Nagel on Flash


Email comments or questions to [email protected]

Write A Comment