2012 No Brakes Tour Year-End Champions. CREDIT Bonnie Wheatley

2012 No Brakes Tour Year-End Champions. CREDIT Bonnie Wheatley

Year-end champions were determined in nail-biting fashion at the Finale, with several of the winners unknown until the final moments when results were posted and tabulations could be made. Five Cactus Trophy Saddles were on the line, making the race to the winner’s circle in each “D” of the Open, as well as the popular Novice Horse class, fiercely contested from the first run of the year to the very last. Colorado’s best barrel racers were joined by entries from several surrounding states that came and made the 1st Annual No Brakes Tour Finale a fantastic conclusion to a successful season.

Running away with the Open 1D average was Wendy Fritzler aboard Senior Senora, whose time on two runs of 32.752 edged Julie Weinstien and High King Of Cash (33.489). Fritzler set the pace on day one posting a rapid 16.519 worth $629, which she handily bested with a 16.233 worth second place and $468 on day two. Kathy Korell-Rach posted the fast time of the event winning race two for $658 with a blazing 16.191 aboard I Be A Barjo Belle—a product of her family’s breeding program that is sired by their standout stallion, Smoke N Sparks. The 2D average belonged to Janet Baughman aboard Feature Buster (33.761), while Kim Supan and Harrison took the Open 3D average (34.873). Mary Brighi and Six Duster earned the Open 4D average title with their total on two of 35.784 seconds. Jackie Hubbard edged Novice Horse year-end champion, Grace-Ann Walker, for the Novice Horse average title aboard her home-raised gelding, Lil Rocks Clue (34.169). All average champions went home with a beautiful No Brakes Tour embroidered trophy jacket, courtesy of No Brakes Tour sponsors, who also ponied up $1,250 in added prize money per day for the Finale.

Following a season of hard work aboard her arsenal of winning mounts, it was Eaton, Colorado’s very own Hannah Montey who held the lead to win the Open 1D year-end saddle. Mountain States Circuit standout Janet Baughman dominated the 2D for the year thanks to her steady mounts, Feature Buster and Adda Dash. Grace-Ann Walker took home not only the Open 3D year-end saddle, but also the Novice Horse Saddle aboard her young standout, Bullys Primetime Diva. Diva also earned distinction by being named the Novice Horse of the Year as voted upon by fellow Novice Horse division entries. A beautiful Tres Rios Trophy buckle was awarded to Walker on behalf of her Novice Horse of the Year. Melanie Luark took home the Cactus trophy saddle awarded to the year-end champion in the Open 4D. In addition to the Cactus Saddles, logoed year-end awards jackets were presented to the top 10 barrel racers in the 2012 year-end standings in each division of the Open and the top 10 overall in the Novice Horse.

2012 No Brakes Tour Finale Results:

Saturday, Sept. 15, Open 4D: 1D: Wendy Fritzler, Senior Senora, 16.519, $629; 2D: Kris Martin, Dealer, 17.022, $540; 3D: Holly Daniels, Sparky, 17.527, $360; 4D: Rande Bernal, Stanley, 18.024, $270; Sunday, Sept. 16, Open 4D: 1D: Kathy Korell-Rach, I Be A Barjo Belle, 16.191, $658; 2D: Kris Martin, Dealer, 16.776, $564; 3D: Raedene Ashley, Skippy, 17.191, $376; 4D: Mary Brighi, Six Duster, 17.721, $282; Saturday, Sept. 15, Novice Horse: 1D: Paige Conrado, C4 Legend, 17.106; 2D: Kayla Tisdall, Miss Guns A Blazin, 17.620; 3D: Carole Strickland, Truley A Braker, 18.108, $79; 4D: Hayley Wegele, San Country Peppy, 18.926, $60; Sunday, Sept. 16, Novice Horse: 1D: Jayme Starr, Kruse, 16.559, $165; 2D: Holly Daniels, Sparky, 17.137, $141; 3D: Rande Bernal, Stanley, 17.581, $94; 4D: Wendy Chambers, Honors Amazing Grace, 18.142, $71.

About the No Brakes Tour

What began as a Colorado-based grass roots effort to provide barrel racers with fun, family-oriented events featuring fair competitive opportunities, great ground and a fantastic year-end awards program, has evolved into a prestigious and lucrative regional tour. We are eagerly anticipating another professionally produced and highly competitive season in 2013.

For more information on No Brakes Tour producers, standings and guidelines, visit spicerarena.com or spin3productions.com.


Email comments or questions to [email protected]

Write A Comment