By Susan Kanode for the Fort Worth Stock Show Rodeo with contributions from Blanche Schaefer of Barrel Horse News

Fort Worth, Texas — February 7, 2020 — Another night of exciting rodeo action at the 124th Fort Worth Stock Show Rodeo had a sold-out crowd on the edge of their seats.

The all new FWSSR Pro Rodeo Tournament completed Semifinal B on Friday. Four contestants in each event advanced to Saturday night’s Championship Finals from that performance.

Lisa Lockhart of Oelrichs, South Dakota, and her 2019 Calgary Stampede champion mare Rosas Cantina CC (2010 mare, Corona Cartel x Dash Ta Vanila x Dash Ta Fame) had the best trip around three barrels. They stopped the clock in 16.39 seconds. Also advancing in the barrels are Brittney Barnett and Chicks Keen O Pocopoo of Joliet, Montana; Lacinda Rose and RR Meradas Real Deal of Willard, Missouri; and last year’s Fort Worth champion Hailey Lockwood and DM Sissy Hayday of Cotulla, Texas.

Sisters Anna and Cassie Bahe of Grantsville, Utah, are among the first breakaway ropers in history to compete for a FWSSR rodeo championship. Anna’s time of 2.3 seconds tied for first with Shai Schaefer of Torrington, Wyoming. Cassie’s time of 2.5 tied for third with Stephenville, Texas, resident Jackie Crawford.

Saddle bronc rider Spencer Wright had the highest-marked ride of the whole rodeo so far when he scored 90.5 points on Calgary Stampede’s horse Stampede Warrior. That was just a half-point shy of the highest recorded score in the history of the Fort Worth rodeo. Wright, the 2014 Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association world champion, earned $4,000 for his ride. He will try to expand on that in the finals where the champion will leave with a $20,000 check. Also advancing are Wyatt Casper from Pampa, Texas, Mitch Pollock of Winnemucca, Nevada, and Colt Gordon of Comanche, Oklahoma.

Several north Texans will be hoping to earn the first titles ever awarded in the Dickies Arena. Tilden Hooper, who chose Fort Worth to be his home after growing up in Carthage, Texas, advanced in the bareback riding. He tied for third place with Rapid City, South Dakota, resident Jamie Howlett’s 85.5-point ride. There was a tie for the top as well. Clint Laye from Cadogan, Alberta, Canada, and Paden Hurst from Huntsville, Texas, each had 86.5.

Tie-down roper Tyson Durfey grew up in Missouri but also chooses to live in the Fort Worth area. He made the trip from his home in Brock, Texas, to compete and finished with the fastest run of the night at 7.8 seconds. He’ll be back Saturday as will Adam Gray from Seymour, Texas, Tuf Cooper from Decatur, Texas, and Tyler Milligan of Pawhuska, Oklahoma.

In the steer wrestling, Louisiana and Mississippi took top honors. Jacob Talley of Keatchie, Louisiana, was first with a time of 4.1 seconds. Close behind was Byhalia, Mississippi, cowboy Will Lummus with a 4.2. Jacob Edler from State Center, Iowa, and Bridger Anderson, from Carrington, North Dakota, also advanced.

The fastest run in the team roping went to Tyler Wade of Terrell, Texas, and Billie Jack Saebens of Nowata, Oklahoma. They stopped the clock in 5.2 seconds. The next three runs were separated by just one-tenth of a second. Lane Ivy of Dublin, Texas, and Joseph Harrison of Marietta, Oklahoma, had a 5.3. Britt and Jake Smith from Broken Bow, Oklahoma, finished third with a 5.4. Charley Crawford of Stephenville, Texas, and Logan Medlin of Tatum, New Mexico, got the final slot with a 5.5.

Two bull riders made it to the eight-second mark Friday and both hail from Oklahoma. At the top of the board, Strong City’s Trey Kimzey had an 86-point score on Rafter G Rodeo’s Texas Red. Fulton Rutland of Stilwell finished second with 84. Based on qualification rules, Trevor Kastner of Roff, Oklahoma, and Jeff Askey of Athens, Texas, will also compete for the championship.

Saturday night’s championship round will be the culmination of this year’s rodeo. Action gets underway at 7:30 p.m. CST.


FORT WORTH, TEXAS — The following are unofficial results from Semifinal B of the  FWSSR ProRodeo Tournament at the Fort Worth Stock Show Rodeo from Friday, February 7, 2020.  The top four from this round advance to the finals Saturday, February 8.

Breakaway Roping: 1, (tie) Anna Bahe, Grantsville, Utah,  and Shai Schaefer, Torrington, Wyo., 2.3 seconds, $3,500 each. 3, (tie) Jackie Crawford, Stephenville Texas, and Cassie Bahe, Grantsville, Utah, 2.5,  $1,500.

Barrel Racing: 1, Lisa Lockhart, Oelrichs, S.D., 16.39 seconds, $4,000. 2, Lacinda Rose, Willard, Mo., 16.55, $3,000. 3, Brittney Barnett, Joliet, Mont., 16.56, $2,000. 4, Hailey Lockwood, Cotulla, Texas, 16.59, $1,000.

Bareback riding: 1, (tie) Clint Laye, Cadogan, Alberta, on Championship Pro Rodeos’ Stacked Deck, and Paden Hurst, Huntsville, Texas, on Rafter G Rodeo’s Holy Grail, 86.5 points, $3,500 each. 3, (tie) Tilden Hooper, Carthage, Texas, and Jamie Howlett, Rapid City, S.D., 85.5, $1,500 each.

Steer Wrestling: 1, Jacob Talley, Keatchie, La., 4.1 seconds, $4,000. 2, Will Lummus, Byhalia, Miss., 4.2, $3,000. 3, Jacob Edler, State Center, Iowa, 4.7, $2,000. 4, Bridger Anderson, 4.8, $1,000. .

Saddle Bronc Riding: 1, Spencer Wright, Milford, Utah, 90.5 points on Calgary Stampede’s Stampede Warrior, $4,000. 2, Colt Gordon, Comanche, Okla., 89.5, $3,000. 3, Wyatt Casper, Pampa, Texas, 88.5, $2,000. 4, Mitch Pollock, Winnemucca, Nev., 87, $1,000.

Tie-down Roping: 1, Tyson Durfey, Brock, Texas, 7.8 seconds, $4,000. 2, Tuf Cooper, Decatur, Texas, 8.7, $3,000. 3, Adam Gray, Seymour, Texas, 8.8, $2,000. 4, Tyler Milligan, Pawhuska, Okla., 9.1, $1,000.

Team Roping:  1, Tyler Wade, Terrell, Texas, and Billie Jack Saebens, Nowata, Okla., 5.2 seconds, $4,000 each. 2, Lane Ivy, Dublin, Texas, and Joseph Harrison, Marietta, Okla., 5.3, $3,000 each. 3, Britt and Jake Smith, Broken Bow, Okla., 5.4, $2,000 each. 4, Charly Crawford, Stephenville, Texas, and Logan Medlin, Tatum, N.M., 5.5, $1,000 each.

Bull Riding: (two rides) 1, Trey Kimzey, Strong City, Okla., on Rafter G Rodeo’s Texas Red, $5,500. 2, Fulton Rutland, Stilwell, Okla., 84, $4,500. Jeff Askey, Athens, Texas, and Trevor Kastner, Roff, Okla., also advance due to tiebreaker rules.


Email comments or questions to [email protected]

Write A Comment