By Michael Mahaffey

2011winterwinnerjane crow

Winter Series champions Jane Crow and Smoky.

The Tanner Time Training Center in Rocky Ford, Colo., has announced the winner’s of its 2011 barrel racing series, naming Jane Crow and her horse, Smoky, Winter Series points champions and Janie Petramala and CR Whizzin (“Whiz”) Summer Series champs.

Crow and Smoky took control of the Winter Series, which ran from September 2010 to May of this year, from the first run of the first round, and the duo never looked back. The pair earned maximum points by recording D wins in each of the first three races they ran in the series, placing no lower than third in a D in their first six runs.

Following a trio of shaky runs to start the new year, Crow and Smoky returned to form, earning D wins or reserve placings in seven of their next nine runs. The pair handily won the series, earning a win and reserve placing in final race of the series.

2011summerwinner janie petramala

Summer Series champions Janie Petramala and Whiz.

This year’s summer series winner, with the most total points earned from June to August 2011, was Janie Petramala and her horse, Whiz. The duo earned the majority of their points by placing consistently in the 4D throughout the seven-round series. They earned their biggest win of the series in the fourth round, where they claimed the 3D championship, and followed it up with their best run of the winter with a 2D placing the following week.

Their biggest competition for most of the series was another of Petramala’s horses, “Fooler,” who lead the series for the first half of the season and entered the final round in a dead heat with Whiz. Fooler ended the series as the reserve champion.

For more information about Tanner Time or its barrel racing series, visit or call (719) 254-3949.


Email comments or questions to [email protected]

Write A Comment