Circle G Arena has developed a reputation as one of the premier barrel racing venues in the country. Barrel racers from all across the Great Lakes and Northeast regions made their way to Lewisburg, Ohio, New Year’s weekend to take part in the facility’s first big race of 2010. More than 850 entries ran for a share of the $22,450 purse at the $4,600-added event, which featured three paying runs in the Open, with the best two runs for each teams determining the Average championship.

mike hulsinger jones on fireAbove Average
   Champion barrel racer Troy Crumrine returned to Circle G and took up a familiar position atop the Open Average standings. The Waynesfield, Ohio, native rode Hoosier Fame to 1D titles in every round in which they ran en route to the 1D Average championship.
   After skipping the first round of action on Friday, Crumrine and Hoosier, the 5-year-old chestnut gelding by Dash Ta Fame and out of the Dash For Perks mare Time To Perk owned by Jan and Mike Dahlen, had little margin for error.
   Crumrine and Hoosier let the field know they meant business on Saturday, scoring a 14.921, the only sub-15 second time recorded to that point, to win the 1D championship by more than a tenth and a half over reserve champions Kelly Pitts and Tin Zan Man. They came back on Sunday and smoked the pattern in 14.875 seconds, the fastest run of the weekend, to win their second 1D title by nearly a tenth of a second over reserve winners Janis Wagner and Reneoni.
   With a total time of 29.796, Crumrine and Hoosier won the 1D Average championship by more than two tenths of a second over Wagner and Reneoni and pocketed checks totaling $1,087 for their efforts. Crumrine won another $301 aboard Duece, who he ran to a third place 1D finish in Saturday’s Open.
john spencer cowboy   In the tightest Average race of the weekend, Mike Hulsinger and Jones On Fire won the 2D Open Average championship with a time of 30.803 seconds, just two thousandths of a second ahead of reserve champions Justin Bishop and CJS Money Hutt. John Spencer and Cowboy topped Teha Richards and Flashy Dakota by 12 thousandths to claim the Open 3D Average championship, while Audrey Faulkenburg and Shooter Jennings outran Rick Parson and On Man What An Effort by more than a tenth of a second to win the 4D Average title.



Other Winners
   Shaylyn Sabol and MJC Last Red Rose won Friday’s Open 1D championship and a check for $434 with a run of 15.139, outpacing reserve champions Kelly Pitts and Tin Zan Man by eight hundredths of a second. Jessica Cantrell and Maggie took the 2D title with a run of 15.643, while Sue Collier and Tee ran a 15.934 to take the 3D championship and Audrey Faulkenburg rode Shooter Jennings to the 4D title with a 16.899.
audrey faulkenburg shooter jennings   Micheal Mann jockeyed May B Billy Madison to the 2D championship on Saturday. Their time of 15.424 edged reserve champions Justin Bishop and CJS Money Hutt by only one thousandth of a second. Rachel Senft piloted Ratchetts Little Man to the 3D title with a run of 15.941, and Woodie carried Larrie Ballard to the 4D championship on the strength of a 16.950 time.
   Bishop and CJS Money Hutt finally earned the title they had chased all weekend on Sunday, outrunning Justin Stewart and Raise Speed by two thousandths of a second to secure the 2D win with a time of 15.381. Howie Dinky Time turned three barrels in 15.885 seconds to give Brian Gray the 3D championship, and Larrie Ballard claimed a second 4D championship, guiding Onyx around the pattern in 16.888 seconds to secure the win.
   William Ball and May B Noble lead the way among the 74 Youth entries, scoring a 15.289 to win the 1D championship. Abby Yarkosky and Chick won the 2D with a run of 16.319, and Emily Drury and Rocky won the 3D with a time of 17.336.

New Year’s Spectacular

When: Dec. 31, 2009-Jan. 3, 2010
Where: Circle G Arena in Lewisburg, Ohio
Entries: 865
Total Payout: $22,450
Winners: Average: 1D) Troy Crumrine/ Hoosier Fame/ 14.898/ $239; 2D) Micheal Hulsinger/ Jones On Fire/ 15.401/ $124; 3D) John Spencer/ Cowboy/ 15.934/ $99; 4D) Audrey Faulkenburg/ Shooter Jennings/ 16.899/ $61.
Friday: 1D) Shaylyn Sabol/ MJC Last Red Rose/ 15.139/ $434; 2D) Jessica Cantrell/ Maggie/ 15.643/ $226; 3D) Sue Collier/ Tee/ 16.140/ $179; 4D) Audrey Faulkenburg/ Shooter Jennings/ 17.269/ $110.
Saturday: 1D) Troy Crumrine/ Hoosier Fame/ 14.921/ $408; 2D) Micheal Mann/ May B Billy Madison/ 15.424/ $223; 3D) Rachel Senft/ Ratchetts Little Man/ 15.941/ $177; 4D) Larrie Ballard/ Woodie/ 16.950/ $97.
Sunday: 1D) Troy Crumrine/ Hoosier Fame/ 14.875/ $440; 2D) Justin Bishop/ CJS Money Hutt/ 15.381/ $229; 3D) Brian Gray/ Howie Dinky Time/ 15.885/ $182; 4D) Larrie Ballard/ Onyx/ 16.888/ $111.
Youth: 1D) William Ball/ May B Noble/ 15.289/ $132; 2D) Abby Yarkosky/ Chick/ 16.319/ $58; 3D) Emily Drury/ Rocky/ 17.336/ $37.

Michael Mahaffey is associate editor of Barrel Horse News. E-mail comments on this article to [email protected].


Email comments or questions to [email protected]

Write A Comment