Article by Ann Bleiker courtesy Women’s Professional Rodeo Association

If Sunday morning at the 2021 WPRA World Finals presented by Nutrena in Waco, Texas, was any indication of how ready Dona Kay Rule and High Valor (Valiant Hero x Rare High x Rare Form) are for the Wrangler National Finals Rodeo next month, they passed the test with flying colors.

—> Read more: 2021 NFR Horse Pedigrees

During the final round of the WPRA Card Holder Race at EXTRACO Event Center, “Valor” laid down the fastest time of the entire weekend, stopping the clock in 15.457 seconds to capture the round and average title. Rule added another $1,770 for the round win and $3,584 for the average to her 2022 WPRA ProRodeo world standings earnings.

Valor raced against many of the same horses that will be running down the alleyway at the Thomas and Mack in just a few short weeks, including Brittany Pozzi Tonozzi and Ima Famous Babe, who finished second in the final round in a time of 15.626. Emma Charleston and the Michele McLeod-trained 2015 mare Makana (Slick By Design x Rods Last Ladybug x Sharp Rodney), a horse Stevi Hillman plans to have in her arsenal in Las Vegas, were sixth in a time of 15.873, and Jordon Briggs and Famous Lil Jet finished eighth in the round at 15.901.

Rule of Minco, Oklahoma, entered the final round third in the average behind Jimmie Smith and Jordon Briggs, but after saving their best run for the final day, Rule and High Valor took home the average title with a total time of 47.043 on three runs.

Laura Mote, daughter of four-time Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association World Champion Bareback Rider Bobby Mote, turned 18 in July and bought her WPRA permit the end of August. Competing this weekend at the WPRA World Finals in the Permit Only race, Mote blasted through the cloverleaf pattern aboard 2013 gelding Reb Hot Redbull (Reb Hot Fame x Little Rock Misty x Spires Rock), winning two rounds en route to the average title. She topped the leaderboard in the second round in a time of 15.811 seconds and returned for the final round, also turning in the top time with a 15.913. She easily won the average with a three-run total of 47.955 seconds. Mote will now turn her attention to her next goal of winning the 2022 WPRA Rookie of the Year title.

Full results from the WPRA World Finals, including breakaway, team roping, WPRA Gold Card, futurity, derby and more can be found here.

WPRA World Finals Card Holder Race

First round: 1. Kylee Scribner/Firewater Cartel/15.640 seconds/$2,390; 2. Jodee Miller/Mr Repete Pete/15.744/$2,048; 3. Jackie Ganter/Smokn Lane/15.799/$1,707; 4. Jimmie Smith/A Valiant Nicky/15.816/$1,479; 5. Dona Kay Rule/High Valor/15.824/$1,138; 6. Alex Lang/Angels On The Moon/15.861/$1910; 7. Randee Prindle/Red Man Jones/15.869/$683; 8. Carrie Potashnick/Perks In The House/15.877/$455; 9. Haley Wolfe/Iron Eyes Rio Bravo/15890/$341; 10. Cassidy Kruse Deen/Outta Clear Blue/15.892/$228.
Second round: 1. Jordon Briggs/Famous Lil Jet/15.605 seconds/$2,390; 2. Jimmie Smith/A Valiant Nicky/15.707/$2,048; 3. Emma Charleston/Makana/15.725/$1,707; 4. Tillar Murray/Dashing Canelo/15.753/$1,479; 5./tie) Cheyenne Wimberley/Royal Blue Fame) and Dona Kay Rule/High Valor/15.762/$1,024 each; 7. Tandy Meyers/Streakin Dusty Light/15.769/$683; 8. Tera Moody/Pennys Final Fling/15.789/$455; 9. Rylee Shields/Fury’s Princess/15.809/$341; 10. Liz Pinkston/Cash Flow Depot/15.812/$228.
Final round: 1. Dona Kay Rule/High Valor/15.457 seconds/$1,770; 2. Brittany Pozzi Tonozzi/Ima Famous Babe/15.626/$1,328; 3. Wendy Cline/Streakin And Shaken/15.836/$885; 4. Steeley Steiner/XS Dirty Lil Secret/15.867/$443.
Average: 1. Dona Kay Rule/47.043 seconds on three runs/$3,584; 2. Jordon Briggs/47.462/$3,072; 3. Brittany Pozzi Tonozzi/47.611/$2,560; 4. Tandy Meyers/47.664/$2,219; 5. Jimmie Smith/47.763/$1,707; 6. Emma Charleston/47.770/$1,365; 7. Stephanie Fryar/47.790/$1,024; 8. Michelle Darling/47.934/$683; 9. Wendy Cline/47.957/$512; 10. Cayla Small/47.971/$341.

WPRA World Finals Permit Only Race

First round: 1. Mindy Holloway/Heavens Got Credit/15.998 seconds/$981; 2. Suade Furr/Stackin Bills/16.103/$841; 3. Kaycee Killingsworth/Firewater Ta Party/$701; 4. Laura Mote/Reb Hot Redbull/16.231/$607; 5. Jordyn Williams/Kool Speed Ta Kash/16.270/$467; 6. Rylee Leach/NMD Chesterslilbunny) 16.277/$374; 7. Traci Nelson/The Cat Dun It/16.320/$280; 8. Masyn Powers/BW Lilsisterdontcha) 16.341/$187; 9. Jesse Harris/BR Galsfrench Hayday/16.373/$140; 10. Anna Johnson/Famous Resurection) 16.375/$93.
Second round: 1. Laura Mote/Reb Hot Redbull/15.811/$1,238; Suade Furr/Stackin Bills/16.004/$1,098; 3. DeeDee Jordan/Firen For Jack/16.218/$958; 4. Taci Nelson/The Cat Dun It/16.252/$864.
Final round: 1. Laura Mote/Reb Hot Redbull/15.913 seconds/$890; 2. Traci Nelson/The Cat Dun It/16.029/$668; 3. Robin Kuhnhein/MR JB Chasin Roses/16.384/$223; 4./tie) Lauren Merica/Gogo Romeo/16.399/$111 each.
Average: 1. Laura Mote/47.955 seconds on three runs/$1,402; 2. Traci Nelson/48.601/$1,202; 3. Jennifer Dunn/49.453/$1,001; 4. Lauren Merica/49.524/$868; 5. Ella Gohlke/49.569/$668; 6. Robin Kuhnhein/49.764/$534; 7. Brooke Andrews/49.882/$401; 8. Dee Dee Jordan/49.898/$257; 9. Lindsey Stevens/49.926/$200; 10. Margo Thomas/49.983/$134.


Email comments or questions to [email protected]

Write A Comment