December 4, 2020 — Arlington, Texas — In Round Two of the 2020 Wrangler National Finals Rodeo, Jimmie Smith accomplished what every NFR first-timer dreams of—winning a go-round.

“It felt absolutely amazing. It still hasn’t really set in yet,” Smith exclaimed. “My first round-win was pretty awesome.”

The 2018 Women’s Professional Rodeo Association Rookie of the Year and her small-but-mighty 11-year-old mare Lena On The Rocks came into the arena at Globe Life Field with a vengeance in the second round, setting the pace with a 17.04 on the large standard pattern as the first runners of the night. Defending world champion barrel racer Hailey Kinsel and DM Sissy Hayday came close, running last in the draw with a 17.09 to finish second in the round.

“That’s my fastest time on a standard pattern, and it’s a great place to do it at,” Smith said. “Nothing changed. It’s the same run we’ve been doing all year, it just came together a little better tonight than it did last night.”

In contrast, Smith’s first run at her first NFR nearly ended in a broken pattern when “Lena” got a bit lost in the tricky setup heading to the third and took a long detour around the third barrel, nearly coming back on the wrong side.

“It was a lot; there’s a lot going on out there in the arena,” Smith said. “She nailed the first and second and I’m not sure what happened at the third, but she found it tonight and proved she could do what we knew she could.”

Overcoming the mishap mentally was Smith’s first priority. The seasoned competitor quickly put the bad experience behind her and trusted in the horse of her dreams that made the Finals a reality for Smith.

“It took me about five minutes, and then I was over it. Well, I didn’t fall off or break the pattern, we didn’t hit a barrel, and we got a time,” Smith said. “I knew she could do it, so we just went in with the same plan. We’re just going to have fun the rest of the week.”

—>Read more: Jimmie Smith reflects on her tumultuous first year as a pro rodeo competitor.<–

—>Read more: Round One Recap and Results<—

Round Two Results

Rank, Name, Horse, Time, Money Won

  1. Jimmie Smith, Lena On The Rocks, 17.04, $26,230.77
  2. Hailey Kinsel, DM Sissy Hayday, 17.09, $20,730.77
  3. Shelley Morgan, HR Fameskissandtell, 17.20, $15,653.85
  4. Tiany Schuster, Show Mance, 17.28, $11,000
  5. Lisa Lockhart, Rosas Cantina CC, 17.34, $6,769.23
  6. Stevi Hillman, Cuatro Fame, 17.40, $4,230.77
  7. Jill Wilson, Lean Mean Blue Dean, 17.43
  8. Emily Miller Beisel, Namgis D 33, 17.46
  9. Jessica Routier, Fiery Miss West, 17.47
  10. 10/11 Cheyenne Wimberley, KN Fabs Mist Of Fame, 17.49
  11. 10/11 Jessie Telford, Famous Cool Whip, 17.49
  12. Brittany Pozzi Tonozzi, Ima Famous Babe, 17.55
  13. Ryann Pedone, French Zone, 17.71
  14. Brittany Barnett, Chicks Keen O Pocopoo, 17.55
  15. Wenda Johnson, Macgyver Moonflash, 17.78

*Denotes penalty

Aggregate Standings on Two Runs

  1. Hailey Kinsel, 34.27
  2. Tiany Schuster, 34.53
  3. Shelley Morgan, 34.76
  4. Cheyenne Wimberley, 34.86
  5. Brittany Pozzi Tonozzi, 34.87
  6. Stevi Hillman, 34.90
  7. Jessie Telford, 35.08
  8. Jessica Routier, 35.21
  9. Jill Wilson, 35.24
  10. Brittany Barnett, 35.39
  11. Emily Miller Beisel, 35.52
  12. Wenda Johnson, 35.74
  13. Jimmie Smith, 35.85
  14. Ryann Pedone, 36.03
  15. Lisa Lockhart, 39.45

WPRA World Standings

Rank, Name, Hometown, Earnings

  1. Hailey Kinsel, $135,422.40
  2. Brittany Pozzi Tonozzi, $112,378.68
  3. Jimmie Smith, $101,253.83
  4. Tiany Schuster, $96,791
  5. Shelley Morgan, $82,959.57
  6. Dona Kay Rule, $77,453.54
  7. Stevi Hillman, $73,388.69
  8. Cheyenne Wimberley, $68,039.30
  9. Jill Wilson, $63,370.97
  10. Jessica Routier, $61,370.93
  11. Lisa Lockhart, $57,673.37
  12. Ryann Pedone, $52,580.60
  13. Emily Miller Beisel, $52,388.19
  14. Wenda Johnson, $49,953.14
  15. Brittany Barnett, $49,565.33
  16. Jessie Telford, $48,477.20

* No. 16-ranked Jessie Telford replaced No. 3-ranked Dona Kay Rule at the Wrangler NFR

WPRA Regular-Season Earnings (Pre-NFR)

Rank, Name, Hometown, Regular Season Earnings, Rodeo Count

  1. Brittany Pozzi Tonozzi, Lampasas, TX,  $86,724.83, 41
  2. Hailey Kinsel, Cotulla, TX, $78,460.86, 39
  3. Dona Kay Rule, Minco, OK, $67,453.54, 43 *
  4. Jimmie Smith, McDade, TX, $65,022.06, 54 – first NFR
  5. Tiany Schuster, Krum, TX, $55,060.38, 66
  6. Jill Wilson, Snyder, TX, $53,370.97, 35 -first NFR
  7. Shelley Morgan, Eustace, TX, $53,074.95, 49 – first NFR
  8. Stevi Hillman, Weatherford, TX, $52,389.30, 49
  9. Jessica Routier, Buffalo, SD, $51,370.60, 42
  10. Cheyenne Wimberley, Stephenville, TX, $47,039.19, 65
  11. Ryann Pedone, Sunset, TX, $42,580.60, 70 – first NFR
  12. Emily Miller Beisel, Weatherford, OK, $42,388.19, 47
  13. Lisa Lockhart, Oelrichs, SD, $40,904.14, 46
  14. Wenda Johnson, Pawhuska, OK, $39,953.14, 24 – first NFR
  15. Brittney Barnett, Stephenville, TX, $39,565.33, 84 – first NFR


Blanche Schaefer is an avid barrel racer and managing editor of Barrel Horse News. Email comments or questions to [email protected]

Write A Comment