The California Circuit Finals, honoring the top 12 California rodeo contestants, was held at the Showdown Rodeo in Lancaster, Calif., Oct. 19-21, 2012. Johnny Zamrzla, Circuit Finals President, and the entire Showdown Rodeo committee worked closely with the WPRA to be sure the barrel racers were well represented and that the entire rodeo was successful. Year-end circuit barrel racing champion Christina Richman won the Corriente saddle donated by the California Circuit Finals Showdown Rodeo. Reserve year-end champion Linda Vick was awarded a beautiful breast collar hand made by Tootie Hudson. Brianna Trepanier won the Circuit Finals Rodeo average title and received a Montana Silversmiths buckle donated by the California Circuit Final Showdown Rodeo. Each qualifier received Montana Silversmith Spurs and Legacy buckles thanks to numerous sponsors. Each was also awarded a hand beaded over-and-under made by Nicole Phelps Thompson. Bob Berg Buckles and beaded quirts went to go-round winners Linda Vick on AR Will He Tell (“Will”), Ann Scott on Fallin For Fame (“Buzz”) and Brianna Trepanier on Flying For Perks (“Perks”).

The 2012 California Circuit Champion Christina Richman. Photo by Springer.

The 2012 California Circuit Champion Christina Richman. Photo by Springer.

Linda Vick’s horse AR Will He Tell won the coveted Horse of the Year award, and Christina Richman’s great horse Xtrared (“Stitch”) earned reserve honors.

On Nov. 3, 2012 the WPRA California Circuit held its Divisional Circuit Finals, which consisted of the top 12 WPRA Permit holders and the top 12 money winners at the WPRA co-sanctioned barrel races. Stacy Hampton was the proud winner of the Divisional Circuit Finals and was awarded a beautiful Cactus championship saddle sponsored by Franscioni Wines. Finals reserve champion Ann Scott won a beautiful Cactus trophy blanket. Jamie Hinton won the year-end permit champion buckle, and Dude Overton won the year-end WPRA Co-Sanctioned Divisional year-end championship buckle. The WPRA California Circuit Junior Champion trophy buckle went to to Stevie Mae Scott. Montana Silversmith buckles were presented to every qualifier. Professional’s Choice jackets were awarded to each contestant for the California Circuit Finals and the California Divisional Circuit Finals, and to the top six WPRA California Junior members.

The WPRA California Circuit presented its first annual “True Grit” award to Polly Ugland for her lifetime achievements in the WPRA and her persistence to succeed despite the many tough obstacles that life has presented to her. The first annual “Pioneer” award went to Sue Rogers who has been an instrumental member of the WPRA California Circuit for many years and paved the way for female veterinarians. Both of these women have mentored many and the California Circuit salutes their dedication to the WPRA.

Thanks to major sponsor Sea Mist Farms in Castroville, the California Circuit had a phenomenal year recognizing the top professional barrel racers in the region. Plaques of appreciation were also awarded to recognize outstanding rodeo committees and to Gene Hyder, official WPRA California Circuit Photographer of the Year. Sea Mist will receive a Bob Berg Buckle and plaque of appreciation for their generous contribution and support to the California Circuit.

California was honored to have two of its members, Christina Richman and Trula Churchill, competing with the top 15 at the 2012 Wrangler National Finals Rodeo.

For more information about the WPRA California Circuit, contact Marguerite Happy, Circuit Director, at [email protected] or visit


Email comments or questions to [email protected]

Write A Comment