Every year since the early 1990s, the Women’s Professional Rodeo Association and Justin Brands have honored rodeo committees in each of the 12 circuits that went above and beyond to ensure safe ground for the animal athletes of rodeo, specifically the barrel racing horses.

The WPRA Justin Best Footing Award program was created when Tom Feller, director of event marketing for Justin Brands, approached the WPRA about partnering on a program that would focus on the health and wellbeing of the animal athlete. Not only does the program keep animal athletes performing at the top level, but it also recognizes the hard work and time rodeo committees put into making their ground as safe as possible for the barrel horse and all rodeo livestock.

This award is determined by votes from the WPRA membership and circuit directors and represents WPRA members’ voices saying thank-you for a job well done. The WPRA recognizes the top three rodeo committees in all 12 circuits as well as the most-improved ground committee in each circuit. Committee awards provided by Justin include cash bonuses (ranging from $350-$1,000), plaques and, at certain award levels, a pair of Justin exotic boots. In addition, names of each winner for each of the 12 circuits are put into a drawing for an addition $1,500 bonus from Justin.

The following rodeo committees will be recognized at the WPRA Star Celebration in Las Vegas on December 2 at the South Point Hotel and Casino.

2021 Justin Best Footing Award Winners

Badlands Circuit

First – Buffalo Stampede, Kadoka, SD

Second – Burke Stampede Rodeo, Burke, SD

Third – Black Hills Roundup, Belle Fourche, SD

Most Improved – Killdeer (ND) Mountain Roundup Rodeo

California Circuit       

First – Sonoma County Wine Country Rodeo, Santa Rosa

Second – Red Bluff Round-Up

Third – Santa Maria Elks Rodeo

Most Improved – Sonoma County Wine Country Rodeo, Santa Rosa

Columbia River Circuit          

First – Walla Walla (WA) Frontier Days Rodeo

Second – Moses Lake (WA) Roundup Rodeo

Third – Farm City Pro Rodeo, Hermiston, OR

Most Improved – Kitsap Stampede, Bremerton, WA

First Frontier Circuit

First – Goshen (CT) Stampede

Second – Painted Pony Championship Rodeo, Lake Luzerne, NY

Third – Cowtown Rodeo, Woodstown, NJ

Most Improved – Apple Hill Stables Rodeo, Levante, ME

Great Lakes Circuit

First – Sikeston (MO) Jaycee Bootheel Rodeo

Second – Ozark Empire PRCA Pro Rodeo, Springfield, MO

Third – Carson (IA) Community Rodeo

Most Improved – Buffalo (MN) Championship Rodeo

Montana Circuit

First – Bozeman Stampede

Second – Yellowstone Pro Rodeo Roundup, Billings

Third – Kootenai River Stampede, Libby

Most Improved – Central MT RAM Pro Rodeo, Lewistown

Mountain States Circuit          

First – Steamboat Springs (CO) Pro Rodeo Series

Second – Moffat County Fair and Rodeo, Craig, CO

Third – Greeley (CO) Stampede

Most Improved – Yuma (CO) County Fair & Rodeo

Prairie Circuit

First – Kansas Biggest Rodeo, Phillipsburg

Second – Jim Shoulders Living Legends Rodeo, Henryetta, OK

Third – Abbyville (KS) Frontier Days PRCA Rodeo & BBQ

Most Improved – Wild Bill Hickok Rodeo, Abilene, KS

Southeastern Circuit   

First – Florida Gateway Pro Rodeo, Lake City, FL

Second – Chas B Davis Memorial Rodeo, Ringgold, GA

Third – 146th Silver Spurs Rodeo, Kissimmee, FL

Most Improved – 146th Silver Spurs Rodeo, Kissimmee, FL

Texas Circuit

First – Heart O’ Texas Rodeo, Waco

Second – Cowboy Capital of the World, Stephenville

Third – Helotes Festival Association Rodeo

Most Improved – Parker County Sheriffs Posse Frontier Days & PRCA Rodeo, Weatherford

Turquoise Circuit       

First – Socorro (NM) County Fair & PRCA Rodeo

Second – World’s Oldest Rodeo, Prescott, AZ

Third – Parada del Sol, Scottsdale, AZ

Most Improved – 37th Annual Andy Devine Day Rodeo, Kingman, AZ

Wilderness Circuit      

First – Gooding (ID) Pro Rodeo

Second – Jerome (ID) County Fair and Rodeo

Third – War Bonnet Roundup, Idaho Falls, ID

Most Improved – Days of the Old West Rodeo, Delta, UT

Article provided courtesy the WPRA. For more, visit wpra.com.


Email comments or questions to [email protected]

Write A Comment