The one word that sums up the year is OUTSTANDING!  The newly remodeled Blackhawk Arena was the perfect stage, providing all the needs for both horses and riders. With $100,000’s given out in cash and awards 2008 was a record breaker.  Here are some of the big winners this race.

Winning the XPRESS 4 horse living quarter horse trailer was very excited, Marie Frandsen from Honeyville, Utah.  Marie attended every race that HEI put on in 2008 and only had one ticket in the bucket of over 700.  She received her ticket this race for winning a spot in the average, proving it only takes one ticket to win.

Two beautiful Burns Saddlery custom saddles were given away to lucky winners Jill Rasmussen from Herriman, Utah in the open class and winning the 18/40 saddle was NFR qualifier Vickie Solmonsen  from Riverton, Utah.

Saturday night was the payout party and Luau.  Lucky winner of the Yamaha Grizzly 4 wheeler was Lindsey Busch of Las Vegas Nevada.  Her mom Ann Busch won $1202 just hours before, making August 16th a very memorable day for the Busch’s.

The cowboy race was the final event of a very fun filled Saturday.  Top cowboy Luke Robinson’s 15.6 was the fastest time and gave him top cowboy for both July and August, bringing his total for the weekend to $1485.  He also received a handsome Montana Silversmith Buckle.  Winning the 2-D cowboy championship was Gary Thorton he received $558 and a good looking vest from Powder River.  Winning the 3-D was first time barrel racer Kurt Campbell, taking home a vest and $251.

Average winners in both the open and 18/40 class all received a custom belt buckles and trophy display boxes from Montana Silversmith the winners are:

Online Results:
18-40 1st Go  |  18-40 2nd Go  |  18-40 Average
Open 1st Go  |  Open 2nd Go  |  Open Average

OPEN Average Winners                                                                                               

1-D  Stacy Glause
2-D  Torri Longgood
3-D  Kim Barton
4-D  Brittanie Dalley
5-D  Lyn Shirky

18/40 Average Winners
1-D  Stacy Glause
2-D  Toni Williams
3-D  Tegan Shaw
4-D  Maci Mitchell 

There were 31 contestants that made over $1000 for the weekend that is record breaking!   Here are the top 10 money winners for this race.

1.       Destiny Crane                 $2701

2.       Stacy Glause                   $2486

3.       Jackie Keller                   $2483

4.       Helina Thomas              $2476

5.       Teigan Adams                $2462

6.       LeAnn Wolfe                    $2150

7.       Carrie Mascaro               $1905

8.       Desirae Wheeler            $1754

9.       Stace Sue Ward              $1614

10.      Luke Robinson              $1485


New exciting things for 2009 are planned.  The Xtreme 15 a $10,500 race run at our finals for anyone who runs a 15 time in a prior 2009 race.

New incredible award package to be announced shortly.

HEI’s mission statement is constant and never ending improvement in producing the finest barrel races in the world.

Together we will make it happen.

Thanks for an amazing year,

HEI Management


Email comments or questions to [email protected]

Write A Comment